28 July 2017

The reviews are in for our Carbonelli recording! 

Hats off then to Čičić and his Illyria Consort for choosing the first six of Carbonelli’s sonatas for their debut recording, because not only is half their programme’s music previously unrecorded, but it’s all genuinely wonderful stuff... fluid perfection... bravo to the whole.
— Gramophone, August 2017
[Gives] Cicic and his ensemble every opportunity to shine … the playing [is] noteworthy. Splendid sound.
— Classical Music, July/August 2017, FIVE STARS
On so many levels, this is a must-have CD. Fascinating music by a little-known composer, played with outstanding musical conviction by four excellent musicians.
— Andrew Benson Wilson, June 2017
These performances are eloquent, engaging and really nicely ornamented. It’s one of my favourite discoveries this week.
— BBC Radio 3 Record Review, June 2017
Taut and elegant … Čičić makes even the high-wire showy stuff sing with a lyricism that is shapely, aerated and totally unforced.
— The Guardian, June 2017
The music has a unique appeal – lively, restless, catchy and extremely well written. The long-forgotten Carbonelli is a major find by a boutique label, Delphian, a Scottish firm that rarely issues a dud disc.
— Normal Lebrecht, Musical Toronto, June 2017, FIVE STARS
It’s testament to Čičić’s artistry that you’re never aware of the difficulties being surmounted – fistfuls of the most awkwardly-written chords are dispatched with immaculate intonation and voicing, whilst the contrapuntal sections in the elaborate fugues have a clarity to rival the finest keyboard-player. I’d wager a tidy sum that I won’t be the only one to come away from this beautiful disc itching to hear more from both composer and performers.
— Presto Classical, June 2017, DISC OF THE WEEK
At a time when major labels are rarely bold, Paul Baxter’s Delphian consistently releases recordings that surprise, inform and delight … this sparkling recording is a showcase for Croatian violinist Bojan Cicic, whose career has included work with Frans Brüggen, Trevor Pinnock and Richard Egarr, but whose championing of Carbonelli is the real story here.
— The Herald, June 2017
Performances abound in real vitality, rhythmic verve and dramatic engagement, and Carbonelli’s genius is allowed to shine in all its exuberance. A beautifully recorded disc worthy of serious investigation.
— Music & Vision, June 2017